Social media networks to start using

Welcome to my new blog series, Social Media
for Writers! This is going to be a fortnightly series targeted at writers and
authors who want to know more about using social media to support their author
platform. I’m going to target it so that it’s accessible for complete novices,
as well as for those of you who know what you’re doing online but just want a
bit more of a guide as to how to use it as a writer.

If you want to know more about this new
series, check out this post

Here, I want to start out easy. There are
tons of social networks around and it can be difficult to know where to start
with them. So to start out today, I’m simply going to be talking about some of
the social media networks you can start using.

Twitter – posts are of up to 140
characters. It’s easy to use, easy to connect, and great for quick bites and
updates. Check out my Twitter profile here.

Facebook – now this one’s a little more
diverse. You’ve got the whole Page vs Profile debate, and Groups as well. I’ll
go into more detail in a separate post, but basically: Groups are a great space
for talking to other writers; profiles tend to be much more personal; pages are
great for longer updates than Twitter as well as letting you create events and
albums.

Instagram – an image-focused social network
that’s not the easiest for sharing links, but is perfect for sharing gorgeous
images and some text.

Goodreads – maybe less of a conventional
‘social network’, but given that it’s such a book-focused platform, definitely
worth taking a look at. It’s nice for collecting lists of books you want to
read, sharing what you’re currently reading, and so on.

Pinterest – another visual platform like
Instagram, Pinterest uses images to catch users’ attention and usually links
them through to another site. It’s also great for creating mood boards (swoon).

LinkedIn – a professional network, but a
social network all the same. If I ever get requests from people about writing
for them or attending an event, I check them out on LinkedIn first.

Snapchat – I’d say this is one I’m less
convinced about, but since it’s so popular, it needs mentioning. I keep my
Snapchat purely to use with my friends, but it’s certainly an option, and one
plenty of people use to talk to their audience.

I know I’ve neglected to mention any
blogging sites so far, but I haven’t forgotten. I prefer to use Tumblr for my
blog, but WordPress and Blogger are very popular alternatives. All are
straightforward and easy to use – Blogger (or WordPress Pro, which you have to
pay for) is a more comprehensive option if you’re willing to get more stuck in
with HTML coding. Whichever you pick, if any, my final recommendation is: 

Bloglovin’ – this one allows you to share
you own posts and easily follow and read others’ posts, from a variety of
platforms. I share my blog via Bloglovin’, but mostly use it to collect blogs I
follow to read their posts.

Next time I’ll be talking about how to set
up your online profile, and what you need, but in the meantime, I encourage you
to sign up for a couple of the social networks I mentioned above (if you
haven’t already!) and look around.

Make sure to follow me on Twitter for other updates, and you can follow me on Bloglovin’ here to keep up to date with all my blog posts. If there’s a particular post you’d like to see in this series, let me know! 


from Tumblr http://ift.tt/2jOE5i0
via IFTTT

leave a comment

