Review: We Were Liars, by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars cover“A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.”

After months of seeing people rave about this book online, I finally bought it at YALC – Hot Key Books were selling copies for £5, with a free tote. I couldn’t resist.

James Dawson (HRH the reigning Queen of Teen) told me that he figured out the twist very early in but that it was still the best book he’d read all year. So, naturally, I was paying close attention to everything, wondering what the twist was and seeing if I could guess it.

I didn’t.

Holy crap was I unprepared for the twist.

And holy crap, did I cry.

Where to start? Well, the book was beautifully written: it flowed beautifully, it was poetic in the best way possible, and it gripped me completely. The characters? Equally fantastic in that they were so fascinating. The protagonist, Cadence, or Cady, is a Sinclair, and the Sinclairs are an almost regal family in that they are so wealthy and full of status. That said, the Sinclairs remain as dysfunctional a family as any, in their own way.

Cady explains her summers on the family island with her family and her cousins, but there’s a problem: Cady doesn’t remember everything of her fifteenth summer there – not around the time of her accident anyway.

As a reader, you’re as in the dark as Cady is about her accident. She doesn’t remember a thing. And now, for her seventeenth summer on the island, she’s determined to find out what happened.

Full of mystery, some romance, family trauma and drama, and some real tear-jerking scenes, I loved this book. I can totally see why everyone is raving about it. One of the things I loved best about it was that Cady relays some fairy tale retellings, mostly based on her grandfather and her mother and aunties, but these parts work really well, and I thought it was a great addition of flair.

GOD, I cried. I was shocked. I was in awe.

Cadence is a Sinclair, and you should really read what she has to say.

leave a comment

