Review: Dorothy Must Die, by Danielle Paige

Dorothy Must Die cover“I didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?
Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.
What happened? Dorothy.
They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.
My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.
I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.
I’ve been trained to fight.
And I have a mission.”

Now, those of you who have been following me for a while will know that I am a complete sucker for fairytale retellings. I’ve also recently become a total sucker for Wicked (as in, the stage show. I even got the score for my flute).

I read this in about two days, between going to a digital conference like the professional twenty-year-old adult I am (trying to be).

It. Was. Wicked.

Pun intended.

Amy Gumm is the kind of girl who has been pushed around and put down and karma has turned its back on her for her whole life. She’s trailer park trash, and she just wants out of her small town in Kansas. It takes a tornado to get her out of Kansas, though.

And Oz is nothing like the Oz Amy knows from the movie. Oz is losing its magic, and the lines between good and Wicked are criss-crossed and zig-zagging all over that yellow brick road. Amy ends up recruited for the Order of the Wicked, and her mission? To take down Dorothy, in all her gingham glory.

I was expecting to love this book. I got it or my birthday and even though I have around fifty books to read and I want to read them all, this was the one I was itching to start the most. (What can I say? I have a weakness when it comes to these fairytale retellings!)

And, I have to say, I was not disappointed. I mean, okay, it wasn’t the perfect book: I felt like it was a bit rushed, that sometimes it jumped a bit too much and I was surprised sometimes at the development in relationships that Amy had, and how she was reacting to things.

That said, it didn’t deter from the rest of the book. It was well written. I like the pace. Amy’s voice was so strong, and the story felt so original, and the characters – well, did I like them? Did I trust them? Did I have any clue what they might do next? I DON’T KNOW! I could not possibly have predicted half the twists and turns in this book, and I thought the way they were brought out in the most engaging and sometimes shock-inducing way.

Amy was brave and scared, confused and smart, full of gumption and Dorothy would definitely put her on trial for the crime of Sass if she could.

There are two prequel ebooks to this, which you can bet your cotton socks I’ll be downloading for my next holiday, and I’m itching to get my hands on the sequel, The Wicked Will Rise. I’d 100000000% recommend that you guys give this one a try – it was such a fresh, exciting read that you’re just cheating yourself if you don’t read it!

leave a comment

